My Voice

Day 15.YOUR VOICE WILL FIND YOU

Today’s Prompt :-Think of an event you’ve attended and loved your hometown’s annual fair.That life changing music festivals. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you are told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force. How does that make you feel?

Today’s twists :- While writing this post, focus again on your own voice. Pay attention to your word,choice, tone and rhythm. Read each sentence aloud multiple times, making edits as you read through. Before you hit “publish” read your entire piece out loud to ensure it sounds like you.

Well I have been trying to think hard about an event of late but seems nothing so far has stolen my heart to that extend .But! I got just one thing, which was music festivals that i always attended and participated when I was at a younger age.(9 years)

So let’s see how it goes……..:-)

I was about nine years when I started going for our church music festivals. Those were the best days  not only did I sing, I was a dancer and a soloist. Yes!  One might be amused, but boy! I had  a voice that would have shaken the entire world.

I always emerged to be the best Soloist and i could win myself a bottle of soda. Uuuhm, you might wonder a soda?  Yes Ma’am. That bottle of Fanta which was 500 ml and my best Soloist Certificate. Goodness!.  That certificate gave me goose bumps, every child that was around and those from my group could lift me up while singing loudly and happily.

The songs I conducted were some African Traditional music although we’re written in a Christian version but we danced with the African rhythm. I would sing and dance like a mad child. Haha!  But call it talent. I was well known on that. Whenever our church group landed on the stage and the crowd saw the tiny me leading, they knew straight away that we would emerge winners.

Where did i get that madness from? I don’t know.

If the Church Music festivals were to be cancelled during those years. I am sure that i would have cried and be quite disappointed.  During the season of the festival’s i never had time to play with my friends. I  always did my rehearsal in my room. I dedicated my life to rehearse, having taken all my time then all over a sudden comes the bad news  the festival were cancelled. That would have broken my heart. I wouldn’t have had an appetite to do anything . That would have affected me probably a week or so.

Why? Because I knew that the moment il get on stage i’l receive an Award which made me feel proud those days. 

The End.

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Voice

  1. I enjoyed reading this and as I was reading it I could picture you smiling from ear to ear. I find that your voice in this piece is confident, happy, upbeat, and a little bit guarded. You come across as saying, “I have a lot to give to the world.” This is the impression and feeling I got when I was reading your story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

